Rock Against Hate

by various artists

supported by
/
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     $10 USD  or more

     

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42.
43.
44.
45.
46.
47.
48.
49.
50.
51.
52.
53.
54.
55.
56.
57.
58.
59.
60.
61.
62.
63.
64.
65.
66.
67.
68.

about

This compilation came together as a result of a very divisive election, and the unfortunate increase in hate crimes that happened in its wake.

All the songs on this compilation are original songs that in some way showcase activism, social issues, or protest. As that can be left open to individual interpretation, this album is wide ranging in subject matter and styles of music.

The people associated with this compilation probably don't all share the same opinion on many things, but we all agree on this:

1. Hate crimes are not an appropriate response, ever!

2. The organizations this compilation is benefiting, Planned Parenthood and The Trevor Project, are just two of many worthy causes that will be in desperate need of funding over the next four years.

Thank you purchasing this compilation.

If you enjoy the music on "Rock Against Hate", please seek out more information on each act. Links to each act are below.

- Lazlo (BlowUpRadio.com, Curator of 'Rock Against Hate' Compilation)

By purchasing the album here your donation will go to Planned Parenthood. If you would prefer your donation goes to The Trevor Project, please go to rockagainsthatetp.bandcamp.com

credits

released January 20, 2017

1 The Campfire Flies - "We Can See America From Here" www.facebook.com/thecampfireflies

2 Jon Caspi & The First Gun - "Drill A Whole" joncaspithefirstgun.bandcamp.com

3 Val Emmich - "It's All Right (No!)" valemmich.com

4 Rachel Romanowski - "History Made Easy" rachelromanowski.com

5 The Successful Failures - "The Ballad of Julio Cuellar" www.thesuccessfulfailures.com

6 A Halo Called Fred - "Pignocerous of Spleebonia" www.ahalocalledfred.com

7 Lifeguard Nights - "Dire Straits" lifeguardnights.bandcamp.com

8 Psykidelic Oven Mit - "Trigger The Tiger" www.facebook.com/Psykidelic-Oven-Mit-177495442594435

9 Beatrix Potter - "A Change in Empathy" beatrixpotter.bandcamp.com

10 Craig Greenberg - "Death On The Liberty Line" craiggreenbergmusic.com

11 DDA - "Fight The Good Fight"

12 Diego Allessandro & Lot 25 - "Disillusioned Blues" diegolot25.com

13 Kimon - "Truth To Power" www.kimon.tv

14 New Day Dawn - "The Broken" www.newdaydawn.info

15 Aquino - "Giants Will Fall" michaelaquino.com

16 Ember Swift - "Tapped & Wired" emberswift.com

17 Ben Hughes - "Ambitiously Afloat" benhughes.bandcamp.com

18 Levy & The Oaks - "Slowly In The Water" www.levyandtheoaks.com

19 Sally Draper - "This Election Season, I'll Quit The Internet" sallydraper.bandcamp.com

20 Brett Fuentes - "Thought Police" www.facebook.com/brett.fuentes

21 Happy Joe - "An Angry Voter" www.happyjoe.net

22 Zak Smith - "Awake In The Flood" www.zaksmithband.com

23 Friction 57 - "Mad As Hell" friction57.bandcamp.com

24 Colie Brice - "Life Ain't Fair" coliebrice.com

25 Logs In The Mainstream - "Don't Come to Maryland" www.logsinthemainstream.com

26 Ziggy Grover - "Back from the Dark Re-Record" ziggysmusic.bandcamp.com

27 Catherine Wacha - "Chump (live @ Espresso Joe's)" www.reverbnation.com/catherinewacha

28 Joe Schroeck - "Keep Fighting The Good Fight" twitter.com/joeschroeck

29 SonOfDov - "Mercy" sonofdov.com

30 Dr. Void & The Death Machines - "Angels Descend" www.facebook.com/DrVoidandTheDeathMachines

31 HAL - "The Shape of Society" halguitarist.bandcamp.com

32 Sarah Donner - "With Pride" www.sarahdonner.com

33 Lisa Coppola - "I Can't Make Sense of Your Crazy" www.lisacoppola.com

34 The Afraid Brigade - "The World Is All Just Awful" theafraidbrigade.com

35 Jim Testa - "I'd Like To Be A Christian" jimtesta.bandcamp.com

36 Just Some Punk(s) - "Pipeline" justsomepunks.bandcamp.com

37 Rachel Romanowski - "Marry My Girlfriend" rachelromanowski.com

38 Jon Caspi & The First Gun - "Don't Bend" joncaspithefirstgun.bandcamp.com

39 DownTown Mystic - "Way To Know (featuring Max Weinberg & Garry Tallent from The E Street Band)" downtownmystic.net

40 Shotgun Bill - "Political Blues" www.facebook.com/Shotgunbill

41 Keith Monacchio - "The Courageous Getaway of Ciro & Madelina Fuentos" keithmonacchio.bandcamp.com

42 Reconstitute - "Dear America " www.deplorablesounds.com

43 Talley Summerlin - "Wow" talleysummerlin.bandcamp.com

44 Old Smile - "Over This Wall" oldsmile.bandcamp.com

45 Beth Wimmer - "For The Living" www.bethwimmer.com

46 Laree Cisco - "Never Be The Same (Lord Have Mercy)" www.facebook.com/LareeCiscoMusic

47 Vin Colella - "Breakdown" vincolellamusic.com

48 Mazeffect - "Even A Lion" soundcloud.com/mazeffect

49 September's Ghost - "Corporate Zombie (2016 version)" www.facebook.com/SeptembersGhost

50 Lifeguard Nights - "Put Down The Gun" lifeguardnights.bandcamp.com

51 Atom Driver - "For The Cause" atomdriver.bandcamp.com

52 Psykidelic Oven Mit - "Apologies" psykidelicovenmit.bandcamp.com

53 Don Lee - "Part Of Nothing" donleesounds.com

54 The Dark Brothers - "May the Bridges We Burn Light the Way" pyrrhicvictoryrecordings.com/the-dark-brothers

55 Break Away - "Realize" www.facebook.com/breakawaynj

56 Dub Proof - "In A Rush (ft. pK- Blisstique)" dubproof.com

57 Meeko Brando - "98 (89 remix)" www.facebook.com/MeekoBrando

58 The Skullers - "Silently Violent" www.theskullers.com

59 Billy Hector - "Callin' On Love" www.billyhector.com

60 Tony Appleseed - "Color Blind" tonyappleseed.bandcamp.com

61 Fairmont - "Bones (Transcendance Version)" www.fairmontmusic.com

62 Miss Ohio - "Home To You" www.missohiomusic.com

63 Justin Evan Thomas - "Lifeline" www.facebook.com/JUSTINEVANTHOMASMUSIC

64 Bruce Tunkel - "We Play The Game" www.facebook.com/brucetunkelmusic

65 Tris McCall - "I Like America" trismccall.bandcamp.com

66 The Porchistas - "Hope for the Flowers" www.theporchistas.com

67 The Bitter Chills - "Sleep Tight, Ya Morons" thebitterchills.com

68 Ben Godwin - "Peace Mango" www.bengodwin.com

tags

license

all rights reserved

about

Rock Against Hate (benefiting Planned Parenthood) New Jersey

contact / help

Contact Rock Against Hate (benefiting Planned Parenthood)

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Track Name: Rachel Romanowski - "History Made Easy"
In the beginning of time, everyone got along fine
Until one day one man saw another man’s gland
And said, “Hey – his dick is bigger than mine!”
He felt inadequate, having such a small dick
But he said, “That’s OK, I’ll be a big dick some other way.”

So he made bigger guns and he built bigger bombs
For thousands of years through blood and tears
He continued to carry on
Feeling so insecure and acting so immature
This is the story of war

And once upon a time, people used their own minds
Until one day one man out of self doubt
Decided only his way could be right
He told them what to believe, and if they thought differently,
Well then quite simply they were wrong

He created guilt and he created sin
For thousands of years exploiting the very
Fears he filled them with
What you should think and feel, that ain’t your decision
Yeah, this is the story of religion

People continue to fight and to be lead around blind
But one day, one man’s shallow world
Won’t be affecting mine
Peace is long overdue, salvation’s way past time
This is the story of your life
It’s time to open our hearts, it’s time to open our minds
We’re writing the story of our lives
Track Name: The Successful Failures - "The Ballad of Julio Cuellar"
Sitting in a room in a plastic chair

Smoke from my cigarette looms

They’re feeding us warm tortillas and soon

They’ll be bringing us back to our rooms



I’m a middle aged man with a full time job

And a granddaughter soon to arrive

With the money I make I will never provide

I don’t take enough to get by



We left in the morning before the sun rise

Three days of darkness and then we arrived

On the American side

My Coyote left me to die



I paid my Coyote a handsome sum

He promised to get me inside

I quit my job laid it all on the line

Now I’m lucky to be half alive



Chorus



No my own home I don’t even own

And those in the barrio know

I feel ashamed to be seen sick and lame

So I never set foot out these doors



Chorus
Track Name: Dr. Void & The Death Machines - "Angels Descend"
Murder of millions - all in the name of your greed
Contamination - poison the air that we breathe
Eyes start to bleed - Infection come to the fore
Contempt for life, causing our strife, putrid right down to the core

We were fine until you arrived
And then we took a hit, a world of shit
Thy kingdom come—oblivion, now-
Angel’s descend, this is the end

Wealth is your weapon - with it you eliminate
World we rely on, destroy, sealing our fate
Eater of souls - forever invisible
A portrait in red, a picture of dread, a scene of injustice so pure

We were fine until you arrived
And then we took a hit, a world of shit
Thy kingdom come—oblivion, now-
Angel’s descend, this is the end
Track Name: Rachel Romanowski - "Marry My Girlfriend"
What is everyone so afraid of?
Why is everyone so mad?
If I marry my girlfriend
Do they really think the world is gonna end?

I thought we were all created equal
What ever happened to separation of church and state?
Thank god we've got a constitution
To keep people like you from owning slaves

The inside of me is just like the inside of you
All though we may disagree,
You know my sister
-I'm just like you
Just like you

Not sure what makes you think you're better than me
All you know is what you were told to believe
It's a shame you never thought for yourself
-The real sin is everything you never felt

The inside of me is just like the inside of you
I don’t need you to pray for me,
You know my brother
-God loves me too!!!

We all work, and we all pay taxes
We're human beings, and American citizens
Land of the free and the home of the brave,
-Just as long as you're exactly like everyone else
-I guess you got it made

What are you so afraid of?
Why are you so mad?
If I marry my girlfriend,
Do you really think the world is gonna end?
Do you really think the world is gonna end?
Track Name: Reconstitute - "Dear America"
Dear America:
I stand here, in front of you,
Fearful, Faithless
Pale White like your constituency,
Your electoral body.
Hoping you can still lend a hand,
Lend a heart, lend a fucking brain-
To those who felt left behind by their democracy,
For who it will never be the same.
This man doesn't have your interests in mind,
Just his bottom line.
Not My President.
Sexual Predator.
Habitual Liar.
Fucking Coward.
Don't tell me I can't use my brand of hate,
To fight his brand of hate.
Track Name: Tony Appleseed - "Color Blind"
How would life be
If we were all colorblind?
No hues to segregate
No hatred misaligned.

Imagine we are all the same
Cause behind this fabric
We are only one brain
Visually engaged
in a struggle with ourselves
So throw your tongues to the ground
And exit from this hell.

I wish we were all colorblind
We need to shed this hate
It's only in our minds
I wish we were all colorblind
There is no race, we can't lose
If we leave no one behind.

How could life be
If we just dropped the gun,
No bullets congregate
In the the hearts of our loved ones

Imagine we are all the same
Cause behind the trigger
Is a weak heart to blame
Misplaced anger
In a struggle with ourselves
So throw your arms to the ground
And exit from this hell

Humanity is in its infancy
Suffering from hypocrisy
Strong in the head
But weak at the knees
Track Name: Bruce Tunkel - "We Play The Game"
IT'S A DANGEROUS GAME
THAT YOU WANT US TO PLAY
WHERE YOU'LL HURT EVERYONE
THAT MIGHT BE IN YOUR WAY
AND IT SEEMS THAT WE'RE FOOLS
WATCHING HISTORY REPEAT
BELIEVING WE'RE WON
WHEN WE'RE GETTING BEAT
WE PLAY THE GAME
I WISH NEVER WOULD BEGIN
WE PLAY THE GAME
THE ONE NOBODY EVER WINS


IT'S A DANGEROUS TIME
WHERE YOU MAKE YOUR OWN RULES
THERE'S NOT MUCH CONSEQUENCE
WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE MUCH TO LOSE
I'VE SEEN WHAT YOU OFFER
I'VE SEEN WHAT YOU BRING
YOU'VE LEARNED ALL TOO WELL THAT A STARVING MAN
WILL EAT ANYTHING
WE PLAY THE GAME
I WISH NEVER WOULD BEGIN
WE PLAY THE GAME
THE ONE NOBODY EVER WINS


IT'S A DANGEROUS GAME
WHERE YOU’RE TRYING TO SURVIVE
WHERE EVERYONE LOSES
ON EVERY SIDE


SO OF COURSE HOPE IS FLEETING
BUT I'LL DO WHAT I CAN
TO CHANGE THINGS UP
AND START OVER AGAIN
WE PLAY THE GAME
I WISH NEVER WOULD BEGIN
WE PLAY THE GAME
THE ONE NOBODY EVER WINS